If the capabilities of mobile devices are rapidly increasing, why don’t we throw a third dimension to it?, Possible, isn’t it?.

Intel And Nokia have joined forces to build up a new user interface (UI)  in a new shared laboratory at the University of Oulu which is also known as the Intel and Nokia Joint Innovation Center. One of the goals is to widen the experience to the consumers and go WOWSERS about it :D. They would like to provide the experience we gain in 3D Movies that we see in 3D-Enabled screens or better yet of what we see in movie theaters and install it in the pretty much smaller screens of mobiles.

“The University of Oulu‘s focus on future telecommunications solutions as well as electronics and photonics made it the perfect location for the Intel and Nokia Joint Innovation Center. 3-D technology could change the way we use our mobile devices and make our experiences with them much more immersive,” said Rich Green, SVP and chief technical officer at Nokia. “Our new joint laboratory with Intel draws on the Oulu research community’s 3-D interface expertise, and over time will lay down some important foundations for future mobile experiences”,  Justin Rattner, Intel’s chief technology officer and director of Intel Labs.

Cool to see that the third dimension’s technology is coming to our small lovable mobile screens based on the experience of 3D movies, but I’m starting to wonder… When will I buy a new mobile?, After they have launched these babies?, well, I was thinking about buying a new mobile since March, I have a Nokia N96, it’s still functioning well and living healthy with me for over 2 years, but life goes on as technology evolves meaning that it’s time for me to get a new mobile. Only time will tell what will my next mobile be, but let me assure you that I am a Nokia fan even though I was amazed by other mobile devices from other companies like HTC!, but Nokia attacks back with the MeeGo :).

Just a couple of questions before I end this: Does that mean we have to wear 3D glasses to check out the technologies glory?, Or is it the same approach that Nintendo put on their 3DS? ;).

